Liebster Blog Award

Thanks George (gdcramer.com) for nominating my blog for this award. Check out the man that merges the heart of a writer with the soul of a biker. 

About the Liebster:

 

The aim of the Liebster award is to spotlight up-and-coming blogs with less than 200 followers. There are no set rules for the award, but the guidelines are as follows:

  1. Copy and paste an image of the award onto your blog.
  2. Write a post on your blog to thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  3. Nominate some blogs for the award. There is no rule for the number of blogs you nominate, but the general recommendation is at least 5 blogs.
  4. Answer the questions from the person who nominated you in your post.
  5. Ask at least 5 questions on your blog for those you nominated for the award to answer.
  6. In addition to the questions and answers, list at least 5 random facts about yourself.

My Answers to George’s Questions:

  1.  Who is your favorite author and why?
 I have several favorites, depending on genre. For fantasy (the genre I predominately write): Anne McCaffrey and J.R.R.Tolkien because they seamlessly interweave the world they created with characters I want to be my friends. For romance: Nora Roberts because my heart flutters (in a good way) with most of her stories. For travel: Bill Bryson for his sense of humor. There are many more, but I don’t have the room to list them here.
  2. What has been the most difficult obstacle to your writing?
 Finding the best location for me. I must leave the house because of distractions and therefore must lug everything with me. I am NOT a pantzer. I outline, research, and put together what I call my “Bible” for each manuscript. The “Bible” binder contains all my research, along with my character profiles, scene locations, language, etc. Heavy.
  3. Do you have a regimen that you follow with your writing?Not as much as I’d like. When I write, I work for 3-4 hours and don’t check email. My writing time is used only for research, writing, and editing. I try to write Monday through Friday.
  4. What do you consider the most significant event in your life?October 29, 1991 when my dad died and October 5, 1999 when my mom died. Both those days changed me significantly.
  5. Who was your most influential teacher?Mr. Murphy, my 6th grade teacher, for seeing my potential and not holding me back at the class’ pace. Major Benjamin and Gunny Malumphy in MCJROTC for looking beyond gender and enhancing my leadership skills.
  6. What has been the happiest event in your writing endeavors?
 So far, completing my first manuscript and getting it to an editor. The Keepers of Éire took over four years from concept to this point, and I learned so much about writing—the art of writing and my own writing style.
  7. What advice do you have for someone starting a blog?
 Be consistent (I know, not my own priority at the moment), have a goal for what you want the blog to accomplish, and offer a unique experience for your followers.
  8. What advice would give on becoming a writer? Writing is work, writing well is hard work. Know your goal for each written piece and strive to exceed that goal. This most likely will require getting constructive feedback—do it! Learn from others, then draw the line at what you must keep for yourself.

5 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I’m ambidextrous. Some things I can only do left-handed, some only right. Yet, I can write with either hand and it looks the same.
  2. I know some American Sign Language.
  3. Besides my extensive dragon collection, I can’t seem to rid myself of books. I’m a Book-aholic.
  4. I can’t whistle the conventional way, but I do a mean train whistle by clasping my hands together, licking my thumbs, blowing, and playing my fingers like a harmonica.
  5. I am a Black Belt in Tae Kwon Do. 

5 Questions for my Nominees:

  1. When your brain is at warp speed with no signs of slowing down, what do you do to clear your mind?
  2. What is your favorite movie and why?
  3. If you could meet your favorite author, who would it be and what one question would you ask?
  4. What was your favorite subject in school?
  5. What one dream have you given up in your life?
  6. How has writing improved your life?

The Nominees:

Shelley Riley (www.shelleyriley.com)

Lani Longshore (www.lanilongshore.wordpress.com)

Marlene Dotterer (www.marlenedotterer.wordpress.com)

Blake Heitzman (http://shamangene.com/BLOG/)

Stacey Gustafson (www.staceygustafson.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

